Skip to content

so its a new year

January 5, 2010

…and i dont really know what thats supposed to mean. its odd beginning a new year when the past one came to an end after a few really horrible turns. i have no money, forcing me to drop out of college (after spending my entire life at private schools working my butt off to get a college degree) and retreat back to california for a while until i get my feet on the ground. being back in the house i left almost 5 years ago for new york is odd, because normally i am able to enjoy it under the assumption my lovely visit will be coming to an end and i will be heading back to new york again. this time is the last visit home, because by february 1st i will be moving back to los angeles, and giving up the apartment in new york i have spent the last 2 and a half years living in-an apartment where i have spent some of the best worst times of my life.  im realizing now its going to be a lot harder to pack up that apartment than i ever imaged, and it weighing heavily on my shoulders.  i have a new dog to fill the void of the one i spent the last 8 months raising to be my perfect life companion, and dealing with new life after sudden death has been rather intense, more so than i imagined…ive had the dog for a month and still cant give him a name. being school-less and job-less on top of that is making me feel purpose-less…and thats without getting into my private life, which will remain private.

with these things going on, and my life feeling like its gone from 100 to 0 over night, im excited at the prospect making my life exactly what i want it to be-happy, healthy, creative, fulfilling and full of laughter. because from zero u cant go anywhere other than up. and although i know my life is filled with people who really dont care about me at all, what i have realized in the last few months is that i have friends who love me more than i imaged…because when shit got hard, and i thought i would have been thrown out with the trash, i was picked up, cleaned off and brought back to life. it is for this reason that the inside of my arm now says “thank you”…so i can never forget that no matter how shitty life may seem, i have a beautiful family, friends that love me and a healthy body. and thats all that really matters. i may have “changed” from the little pasadena girl i was before, but ive never been me more than i am now, and am coming here as the same happy smiling girl i was before…just with tattoos and more black in my wardrobe.

so keep on hating all you negative people out there…because i am made of rubber and you are made of glue, everything you say bounces off me and sticks to you.

i wore sweatpants and went to cha cha on new years and saw these people.

and then i went to a house party and saw these people.

happy new year

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Janet permalink
    January 6, 2010 6:57 am

    Good luck with everything, somehow it will turn itself around. I have many times been in the same situation and would just keep saying to myself, “while everything else is a shitstorm, at least I have my friends and famly.”

    Hopefully you’ll keep blogging and producing your gigs as I enjoy reading and looking @ all the photos, all seems pretty dope! Post more pics of the new puppy please!!

  2. frank permalink
    January 6, 2010 3:54 pm

    who would hate on pia?
    i guess some people don’t like awesome babes.
    keep your head up. you have a lot in your favor, it’s just sometimes things have to suck. the only trick is to move forward, cancel the fear, move forward. you’ll remember the stuff you learned in this part when you move on to the next part. it’ll be all right.

  3. Matt Colunga permalink
    January 7, 2010 9:28 am

    Pia,

    I’ve been reading your blog on and off for about a year. I love your photos and seeing you get involved with more and more projects. I wish you nothing but the best.
    All that matters is how you recover.
    The bounce back.
    You’re creating the perfect layout for the next chapter.

    Be well and don’t stop updating!

  4. January 8, 2010 5:01 am

    Just wanna wish you a happy new year. I enjoy reading your blog!! Your pictures are so beautiful Pia! I look forward to more pictures from LA!!
    Im so sad for your dog Miller. I’ll hope your new dog can bring the same amount of happiness into your life .

    Family and friends are love.

    Happy 2010.

  5. vanalpert permalink
    January 9, 2010 1:44 pm

    I think YOU and everything you do is awesome. I just read this post and thought of how you are going down in history books. You break barriers and you take risks, and I think thats rad, never sad. Im glad I met you in NYC. You inspire me str8 up, I know I have a lot of work to do in order to impress a girl like you. So keep up the excellent work this year, and forever, weather its a blog or being the dopest mom you can be to your pups. The new Harley post is fresh as fuck. Badass Pia Arrobio, will triumph through thick and thin. Trust.

  6. c. cannon aka aunt carol permalink
    January 9, 2010 4:15 pm

    You are one of a kind Pia!! Don’t stop believing…
    You make my heart smile and giggle…

Leave a Reply

