Skip to content

far, far too delicate

March 31, 2009

my first ever morrissey show, which also happened to be patricks birthday. at one point we were up near the stage, and in a semi-silent moment i yelled “happy birthday patrick!” to which morrissey responded, “are you sure its really happy?” EPPPPPPPPPPIC

patrick2

met up with heath

healthcrazyface

and jerry

jerrycrowd

we tried to stay at this empty table we found in the VIP area, but then important adults kicked us out. the view was nice for a minute there, but obviously getting up close ruled my universe.

crowdmoz

this is the opening band, i have no idea who they were.

mozopeningband

at this point im in sheer heaven. it was a great emotional detox. he played a surprising amount of smiths songs.

mozsinghard

mozsing

moz2

moz3

moz5

moz7

mozhands

oh dont worry, he ripped his shirt off twice. i got a piece of the second one. again, sheer heaven.

mozshirtoff1

mozshirtoff2

why always with the creepy face heath?

heath

my 13 year-old niece india and i talk all the time, and lately shes been growing up a bit, having boy issues, etc. i sent her a list of smiths songs, and told her that no matter how epic and corny it is, there will always be a song that explains exactly how she feels. i told her to listen, and to understand that people all over the world, including myself, have sung these words for years and felt exactly how she feels at this moment, so she shouldn’t feel so alone. then i thought about her sitting in her little pink room, listening to morrissey bitch and moan about how horrible life is, and realized that instead of making it better, auntie pia might be making it worse. but hey, no pain no gain right?

“i was wasting my time, trying to fall in love, disappointment came to me and booted me and bruised and hurt me, but thats how people grow up, thats how people grow up, i was wasting my time, praying for love, for a love that never comes from someone who does not exist, but thats how people grow up, thats how people grow up. let me live before i die….not me not i. i was wasting my life, always thinking about myself, someone on their death-bed said: “there are other sorrows, too.” i was driving my car, i crashed and broke my spine. so yes, there are things worse in life than never being someone’s sweetie. thats how people grow up, thats how people grow up. as for me, i’m ok, for now, anyway.”

One Comment leave one →
  1. D.J. permalink
    April 1, 2009 1:39 pm

    what songs were on the list you sent her?

Leave a Reply

